In what proved to be a fierce contest, a total of 45 other athletes and personalities competed in the 12 other categories that were up for grabs. They were either nominated by their federations, colleagues or the public. Submissions for these closed on 25 May 2013 and winners were selected by an adjudication panel after a meticulous process.

 Only the Sport Personality of the Year and the Sport Fan of the Year categories were open to voting by the public. That process closed earlier tonight at 9pm and voting was done by sms.

 The glitzy event which also attracted a full house of the Who’s Who of South Africa’s sports, music, arts and fashion world, had been much awaited as it has become a premier affair and was broadcast live on SABC 1. Performers included Judith Sephuma, Thandiswa Mazwai and her sisters as well as Mafikizolo.

Lebohang Maile, the Gauteng MEC for Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation described the event as a fitting tribute to Sports stars. “The day we have been all waiting for is here, we are pleased with the impressive attendance by industry players making these awards a complete success. We thank our sponsors the City of Ekurhuleni, National Lotteries, Rotary, AMKA, Gauteng Tourism Authority, Toyota for supporting this event where we reward sporting excellence of our athletes,” said MEC Maile.

The Executive Mayor of Ekurhuleni, Clr Mondli Gungubele said: “It is an honour to be associated with such a prestigious event which does not only look at sporting excellence, but also motivates aspiring sportsman and women to do better knowing that one day their efforts will be rewarded. Hosting such an event also showcases Ekurhuleni as a destination of choice in terms of hosting big provincial, national and international event.

And the winners are:

Most Promising Player – Danelle Wentzel – Archery

Coach of the Year – Paul Geoffrey Jackson – Rowing

Technical Official of the Year – Charmaine Glynis Ho – Archery

Sport Man of the Year – Cameron van der Burgh – Aquatics

Sport Fan of the Year – Constance Pinky Moseme – Soccer

Team of the Year – The Golden Four – Rowing

Sport Woman of the Year –  Caster Semenya – Athletics

Disabled Sport Woman of the Year – Kgothatso Montjane – Wheelchair Tennis

Disabled Sport Team of the Year – SA Wheelchair Rugby – Wheelchair Rugby

Sports Personality of the Year  – Cameron van der Burgh – Swimming

Administrator of the Year – Anna Addinall – Wrestling

Disabled Sport Man of the Year – Lucas Sithole – Wheelchair Basketball Most

Promising Team of the Year – AmaTuks – Football

 LIFETIME ACHEIVEMENT – Jomo Sono and Baby Jakes

No tags

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *