Hundreds gathered at the Silverstar casino in Mogale City to celebrate and award the Province’s sporting stars during a night of glamour and purpose.

Over 800 guests walked the black carpet for an elegant evening to celebrate the spirit of sports. Sport is a unifier and a bridge towards harmony and once again Gauteng, “The enabler of excellence” ensured that those ladies and gentlemen who uphold the Province’s flag were given the recognition they deserve.

Not only does the Gauteng government pride itself in recognizing the best sporting talent in South Africa, but this is also an opportunity to expose upcoming young artists and behind the scenes staff to bring the prestigious ceremony to life.

Breathtaking performances by Kelly Khumalo, Mahotella Queens, Skwatta Kamp and many more were part of the evening’s entertainment.

Throughout the evening’s celebrations and entertainment, finalists were announced. These finalists were shortlisted by a panel of independent adjudicators, represented by individuals from the media, academic and sporting fraternity. Futshane Consulting Pty (Ltd) were the appointed auditors for the adjudication process.

The finalists are:

Sportswoman of the Year with a disability – Zandile Nhlapo for Javelin & Shot-put

Sportsman of the Year with a disability – Ntando Innocent Mahlangu for Athletics: 100m, 200m, 400m, and 800m

Sports Team of the Year with a disability – Central Gauteng Blind Cricket Team for Cricket

Administrator of the year – Karen Losch for Wheelchair Tennis

Coach of the year – Geoffrey Toyana for Cricket

 Most Promising team of the Year – Pretoria Technical High School 1st Team Rugby for Rugby

Sports team of the year  – FNB Wits Rugby Club 1st Team

Xerox Golden Lions Currie Cup Team 2015

Womens Lightweight Double Scull Kirsten McCann and Ursula Grobler

 Sportsman of the year – Kagiso Rabada for Cricket

Keagan Larenzo Dolly for Football

Lesego Stephen Mokoka for Athletics

Sportswoman of the year – Alyssa Conley for Athletics (100m and 200m)

Most promising player/athlete – Siphamandla Hadebe for Volleyball

Sports journalists of the year – Charles Baloyi for Daily Sun/Sunday Sun

Technical official of the year – Mpho Makhoba for Tennis

Community media of the year – Tshepo Thafeng for Soweto TV

School sport athlete of the year

Mpho Tladi for Jeppe Boys High School

Nokwande Hlongwane for Wheelchair Tennis SA/ Adelaide Tambo School

Andesa Ophondo Nonkonyane for Kensington Secondary School

Community sport and recreation programme of the year

Johannesburg Spikers Volleyball Academy for Volleyball

Sammy Kekana for Hockey

Faith and Hope Foundation for Ladies Football

Lifetime Achievement Award – Miss Rosina Sedibane


The following categories are determined through public voting:

SPORT FAN OF THE YEAR – William Mukwevho

SPORT PROGRAMME OF THE YEAR – Tshiwela Nwendamutswu for SABC1/ Sportsbuzz

SPORT PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR – Andrea Dalle Ave for Athletics                              


Prize money :

– R 5000, 00 per finalist,

– R 15,000 for the winner per category

– Sport Personality Award winner will receive R 45,000

– The Life Time Achiever award recipient will receive R 50,000


The Gauteng Sport Awards would like to acknowledge and appreciate all guest award presenters, our hosts Thato Moeng and Motshidisi Mohono, the production team and all the performers for the night.

We would like to thank all our sponsors for partnering with us in celebrating and rewarding the Province’s sports stars for their efforts in keeping the passion of sport alive in the hearts of millions of South Africans.

Please visit www.gautengsportawards.co.za for more information.


No tags

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *