The finalists for the 2018 GAUTENG SPORT AWARDS were today announced by MEC for Gauteng Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation Ms. Faith Mazibuko.

Speaking at the event, hosted by the Green Hills Stadium in Johannesburg, MEC Mazibuko said she was excited by the reception from communities, who came forward in numbers to submit their nominations.

Yet again we want to honour the sung and unsung sporting stars of Gauteng, who give us confidence to acclaim the province as the Home of Champions, said Mazibuko.

“The list and type of nominees received shows the growth of the Gauteng Sport Awards especially in reaching community and development sport”.

More than rewarding these stars, we want to show our appreciation of their talents and dedication to the course (sport), to which former President Nelson Mandela described as having ‘power to inspire and unite people in a way that little else does’.

This year’s finalists were shortlisted by a panel of independent adjudicators, represented by individuals from the media, academic and sporting fraternity. Futshane Consulting Pty (Ltd) has been appointed as the auditors to monitor this process.

Launched under the theme ‘Celebrating Excellence, Inspiring the Youth’, this year’s nomination process took place between 7 June and 7 July 2018, with members of the public submitting their nominations at various outlets across the province.

In keeping with this year’s theme, the department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation in Gauteng will also be celebrating the iconic centenary of former President Nelson Mandela, as well as Albertina Sisulu, both of whom were actively and avidly involved in boxing and tennis, respectively.

The winners will be announced at a gala awards dinner at Silverstar Casino on Sunday, 02 September 2018.

Guests from the sporting fraternity, business and entertainment industry will come together to celebrate the outstanding achievements and excellence that Gauteng athletes, sport officials, sport fans and the media have demonstrated.

The finalists are:

Sportswoman With a Disability

  • Maria Combrink – Athletics
  • Kgothatso Montjane – Wheelchair Tennis
  • Khethiwe Zulu – Wheelchair Basketball

    Sportsman With a Disability

  • Steven Walgenbach – Wheelchair Basketball
  • Jacques Joubert – Judo
  • Neo Ndlovu – Athletics

    Sport Team With a Disability

  • Central Gauteng Blind Cricket Team
  • Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Senior Men’s Team
  • Northern’s Deaf T eam

    Administrator of the Year

  • Willem Jacobus (Jaco) Coetzer – Valke/Falcons Rugby Union
  • Siyabonga Ndlovu – Gauteng Sport Association for the Physically Disabled and Visually


  • Moonira Ramathula – Football

    Technical Official of the Year

  • Daphne Dawn Bird – Aquatics
  • Charmaine Ho – Archery
  • Mpho Mokhoba – Tennis

    Most Promising Player of the Year

  • Bianca Meyer – Rugby (Blue Bulls Rugby Union)
  • Jesdel Kayembe Passua-Nzambi – Boxing
  • Wandisile Simelane – Athletics
  • Dalane Bhekani Dube – Volleyball

    Most Promising Team of the Year

  • Pimville Stars Football Academy Senior Team
  • Troyeville Primary School U/13 Boys Volleyball Team

• Superfins Swimming Club Community Media of the Year

  • Soweto TV
  • Mapepeza Community Media – Print media
  • Pheli FM

    School Sport Athlete of the Year

  • Alwande Skhosana – Wheelchair Tennis
  • Fernando Booysen – Wrestling (Hoerskool Hugenoot)
  • Caitlin Bentley – Rowing

    Sports Journalist of the Year

  • Charles Baloyi – Media 24
  • Obed Philips – Caxton Newspapers
  • Mihlali Baleka – Independent Media

    Community Based Sport & Recreation of the Year

  • Mpho Makhoba – Hockey and Football
  • Faith and Hope Foundation – Football and Netball
  • Moonira Ramathula

    Coach of the Year

  • Nico Coetzee – Wrestling
  • Jenny van Dyk – Netball
  • Nkosilathi Moyo – Volleyball

    Sports Fan of the Year

  • Mamello Constance Makha – Football
  • Mmakgabo Maheya – Football
  • Melanie Ramjee – Special Olympics South Africa

    Sport Team of the Year

  • Gauteng Jaguars Netball Premier League Team – Netball
  • Motor Sport South Africa – Motorsport
  • Johannesburg Spikers Volleyball Academy Men’s Senior Team – Volleyball

    Sportsman of the Year

  • Kagiso Rabada – Cricket
  • Lungi Ngidi – Cricket
  • Aphiwe Dyantyi – Rugby
  • Martin Erasmus – Wrestling

Sportswoman of the Year

  • Kirsten McCann – Rowing
  • Refiloe Jane – Football
  • Danelle Wentzel – Archery

    Life time achievement awards
    The following categories are determined through public voting: Sport Personality of the Year

  • Kgothatso Montjane – Wheelchair Tennis (Sport 09)
  • Kagiso Rabada – Cricket (Sport 01)
  • William Mokgopo – Cycling (Sport 06)
  • Refiloe Jane – Football (Sport 10)

    Sports Fan of the Year

  • Mamello Constance Makha – Football (Sport 07)
  • Mmakgabo Maheya – Football (Sport 05)
  • Melanie Ramjee – Special Olympics South Africa (Sport 03)

    Sports Programme of the Year

  • Withziro2six – Kasie FM (Sport 08)
  • Dlala Mzansi – Soweto TV (Sport 02)
  • The Home Straight (Sport 04)


To vote for your favourite, SMS ‘Sport’ followed by your nominee code (eg. Sport 02 for Dlala Mzansi) to 49497, SMS’s charged at R1.50 (free SMS’s do not apply).

There is no limit to the number of SMS’s sent per cellphone number. The competition runs from 2nd August to 2nd September 2018 17h00, T&C’s apply.

The prize money is as follows:

– R7500 per finalist (up from R5000 last year)
– R15,000 for the winner per category
– Sport Personality Award winner will receive R50,000
– The Life Time Achiever award recipient will receive R50,000

Please visit for more information.


No tags

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *