Following the announcement of the highly anticipated second annual official Dance Music Awards South Africa last month, SA fans took to the internet to vote for the favourites over the past three weeks.

Submissions closed at the end of July with the top five nominees in each category finalised. These were officially announced online last week Wednesday. With a final selection that was held entirely online, these Dance Music Awards South Africa were managed as an audience-voted award event dedicated to South African dance music.  Voting will be driven strictly by social media and online interaction via the official website, meaning no “panel” will dictate the nominees. With the fully transparent user voted award process, this gives the public the power to choose the award winners.

Last year’s winner Black Coffee takes the lead with three nominations this year with Best Male DJ, Best International DJ and Best International Producer. Following closely behind are Durban locals Distruction Boyz with two nominations in addition to a track feature. This includes two Best GQOM records – Madness ft Tipcee, the 2017 hit Omunye and a feature in hit track Dladla Mshunqisi in the same category.

‘With a total of 20 great categories this year, the public response has been phenomenal with almost double the number of votes than last year’ says Dance Music Awards South Africa’s rep Kyle Worde. ‘We have already seen a huge increase in social media interaction alone this year. Several of the artists have played a big role in encouraging their fans to vote which adds to their own popularity but also the awards’.

Voting closes on the 19th September.

The City of Ekurhuleni will host an honorary ceremony on Wednesday, 26th September at Birchwood Hotel, where all winners will be announced.




Best Male DJ

  • Black Coffee
  • KaySoul
  • Kyle Cassim
  • Kyle Watson
  • Shimza

Best Female DJ

  • Lady Sakhe
  • Dj Buhle
  • DJ Miz-Dee
  • SimStar
  • Lady Lea


Best Producer

  • Sir LSG
  • Kususa
  • Nuno (SEA)
  • DJ Prospect
  • Funky Qla

Best Live Act

  • Black Motion
  • Goodluck
  • DJ Tira
  • Mi Casa
  • Goldfish

Best Festival  

  • Picat’s Italian Elegant Experience
  • Rock Da Shades
  • Spring Fiesta
  • Ultra
  • H2O

Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)

  • Londie London – He goes
  • Khubu feat. Ian H – Round n Round
  • Rabs Vhafuwi FT Zak Leigh – I’ll Be There
  • Jimmy Nevis – Stay in your lane
  • Sun-EL Musician – Sonini feat. Simmy & Lelo Kamau

Best Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Ziyon
  • Apple Gule
  • Mr Mo
  • Lazarusman
  • Langa Mavuso


Best Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Ms Dippy
  • Londie London
  • Sio
  • Jackie Queens
  • Lady Zamar

Best Record Label

  • House Afrika Records
  • Just Move Records
  • Ohyea Muziq
  • Stay True Sounds
  • MudPie Records

Compilation of The Year

  • House Afrika Mzansi House Vol.7
  • DJ Adee – Son of a Pitch
  • Stay True Sounds Beat series Vol.1
  • Das Kapital Presents Overtime Vol. 2
  • Matters Of House – Glen Lewis

Album of The Year

  • Dwson – Impulsiv
  • Da Capo – Indigo Child
  • Enosoul – In2Deep Volume 4
  • Sun-El Musician – Africa To The World
  • Rabs Vhafuwi – 9 Provinces

Remix of The Year

  • Hans Seance – Elanora (KaySoul Remix)
  • Cornelius SA feat. Jackie Queens – Feel It Now (Kususa Remix)
  • Kid Fonque & D-Malice ft. Khensy – Tshamiseka (Dwson Remix)
  • Babes Wodumo – Wololo (Remix) ft. D’Banj
  • Afro Warriors ft Toshi- Uyankenteza (Fka Mash Glitch Dub)

Best International DJ

  • Ralf Gum
  • Lars Behrenroth
  • Black Coffee
  • Rocco
  • Atjazz

Best International Producer

  • Atjazz
  • Lars Behrenroth
  • deadmau5
  • Black Coffee
  • Rocco

Best Club Night / Night Club

  • Pisto’s Lounge (CT)
  • Truth Night Club
  • And Club
  • ToyToy
  • Reset (CT)


Best House Record of the Year

  • DJ Ganyani Ft. Nomcebo – Emazulwini
  • Pierre Johnson – Movin’ on
  • Dwson – Forbidden (ft. Sio)
  • Londie London – He Goes
  • Cornelius SA feat. Jackie Queens – Feel It Now

Best Gqom Record of the Year

  • Da Fresh x Athie – Formation
  • Distruction Boyz- Madness ft Tipcee
  • Distruction Boyz – Omunye
  • Dladla Mshunqisi Ft Distruction Boyz & DJ Tira – Pakisha
  • Babes Wodumo – Ganda Ganda

Best EDM Record of the Year

  • Cinimin – You & Me ft. Amy Jones
  • Mark Stent ft Basel Grey – On our Knees
  • Das Kapital & Bart B More – Hit The Club [This Ain’t Bristol]
  • Dean Fuel – Loving Me Wrong
  • Cornelius SA feat. Jackie Queens – Feel It Now (Original Mix)


Best Underground Record of the Year

  • DJ Funky & DJ Lag – 3 Turns
  • Da Fresh x Athie – Formation
  • Pierre Johnson & !Sooks – Miles Away
  • Da Kruk ft. Lili K & Gaba Cannal – Magic
  • Apple Jazz ft. Slaga & Idelan – Amadlozi


Best Dance Radio Show Award

  • Urban Beat – Metro FM
  • 5FM Selective Styles with Kid  Fonque
  • InDasWeTrust (5FM) – Das Kapital
  • Kyle Cassim – The Kyle Cassim show, 5FM
  • Da Kruk on #ThePlayersClub (YFM)


For more information check out and stay glued to our social media handles.

No tags

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *