The highly anticipated Feather Awards is almost upon us and earlier today the colourful list of 2022 nominees were announced following the hoisting of the Pride flag at the home of human rights Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg.

The intimate affair boasted speakers including this year’s Award hosts the Modiselle sisters, Refilwe, Bontle and Candice, Thami Dish as well as the reigning Miss South Africa Ndavi Nokeri alongside Miss SA CEO Stephanie Courtney- Weil. Other speakers included Dr Dulcy Rakumakoe,  Constitutional Hill’s Janine Muthusamy and Dawn Robertson, Zingisa Jemsana – COO of Market Theatre, PFSAQ’s Linah Ngwenya, Fundi Ndaba from FEW and Sign language activist Andiswa Gebashe.

The awards return to the Market Theatre in Johannesburg and set to take place on Thursday, 10th November 2022.

Category nominees which comprised of individuals and organisations from both the private and business sectors are selected by a knowledgeable panel consisting of members of the media and entertainment industry, who are firmly in touch with what’s hot and what’s not on the South African social circuit.

Each nominated individual,  organisation or brand, have in one way or the other either represented, inspired, or celebrated the LGBTIQ+ community with excellence and distinction over the past twelve months. These nominees are selected from industries across lifestyle (entertainment, arts and sports), politics and even business.

The Feathers Awards, now in it’s 14th year is done in partnership with the Thami Dish Foundation who focus on desensitising the LGBTIQ community to the public at large, via the LGBTIQ+ Dialogues, Workshop and Trainings done in communities across South Africa.

              “There is still much work to be done. COVID19 slowed down the process and now it’s time to accelerate the transformation and get back on track. And it’s going to take all of us to do it. From the public sector and the private sector, government and businesses need to put their money where their mouths are” commented Thami Kotlolo, co-founder of the Feather Awards. ‘Inclusivity is not about celebrating the community for a few days in a year. Government and corporates need to support the community, get involved in programmes and initiatives 365 days of the year, not just in June or October when the exercise of ticking boxes needs to happens. We, the queer community, are unfvcken apologetic about being heard, being seen, being recognised and been included. This doesn’t take away from organisations who offer unwavering support for the community. We see you and value your support. To all the nominees best of luck for the upcoming awards next month.

Keep locked to our social media for all the updates:
Instagram      @FeathersSA
Twitter            @FeathersSA
Facebook      The Feathers Awards SA
 Best Styled Individual 

  • Nkuley Masemola
  • Bradley Ndlovu
  • Ponahalo Mojapelo

Hunk of the Year 

  • Shahaan Ramkisoon
  • Senzo Radebe
  • Anton Jeftha

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

  • Yvonne Chaka-Chaka
  • Abigail Khubeka
  • John Kani

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Kgothatso Monjane
  • Banyana Banyana
  • Andile Dlamini

Role model of the Year

  • Banyana Banyana
  • Kass Naidoo
  • FEW

Cutest Couple

  • Koleka Putuma and Robyn
  • Lamiez Holworthy and Khuli Chana
  • Boity Thulo and Anton Jefta

Hot Chick of the Year

  • Rose-Mary Zimu
  • Nkuley Masemola
  • Nambitha Ben-Mazwi

Media Award of the Year. 

  • YFM
  • ENCA
  • EXIT

Fag hag of the Year 

  • Candice Modiselle
  • Judy Nokwedi
  • Vuyo Mse-Ngcukana

Designer of the Year (new category)

  • Sello Medupi for Scalo
  • Palesa Mokobung
  • Donald Nxumalo


  • Musa Keys
  • Zakes Bantwini
  • Msaki

Socialite (Seen at every opening of an envelope or an erection of a stop sign)

  • Birth of Stars
  • Tumi Powerhouse
  • Rami Chuene

Drama Queen

  • Thato (RHOCT)
  • SK Khoza
  • Professor Mokgethi

Social Media Personality of the Year  

  • Birth of Stars
  • Tumi Powerhouse 
  • Khanyisa Unflitered

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector 

  • Jagermeister
  • Proctor and Gamble
  • Meta SA

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Public Sector 

  • Department of Social Development
  • SAPS Sophiatown
  • NYDA

Best LGBTIQ Youth Movement 

  • Active Wits
  • Vogue Nights
  • Impulse

Best Rainbow Parenting 

  • Shumi Dantile 
  • Treyvonne Moo (House of Diamonds)
  • Buhle and Botshelo


This year, the Simon Nkoli Award will be awarded to internationally renowned choreographer and dancer Gregory Magoma.

No tags

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *